I am an “imperfectionist”

Perfectionist-Cutting-Grass

I am an imperfectionist.

The main difference between perfectionism and imperfectionism is that imperfectionism exists.

You are not perfect and you never will be.

Sit with that for a moment.

Think about the context in which perfection usually comes up.

We rarely hear people say, “It came out so great because I’m such a perfectionist.”

Perfection does not fuel beautiful work but often comes up as an excuse for beautiful work to never even get started.

“My problem is that I am such a perfectionist”

Really means:

“I am terrified to put myself out there for fear of being vulnerable”

Brene Brown puts it like this

“Perfectionism is self-destructive simply because perfection doesn’t exist. It’s an unattainable goal. Perfectionism is more about perception than internal motivation, and there is no way to control perception no matter how much time we spend trying,”.

Are you a self-described perfectionist?

What are you compelled to “put out there” but you don’t because you are afraid of being embarrassed?

We need it

We need you to be brave

We need your best

Not your perfection

It doesn’t exist

Just your best

Your picture

Your song

Your poem

Your research

Your heart

Your best

Can we have something by the end of the day?

It’s early….

Somewhere.

6 thoughts on “I am an “imperfectionist”

  1. I have been a perfectionist for a very long time, yet despite a voluminous amount of time and energy spent at it, all I can truthfully say is that I have perfected only my imperfection. Those things that are bothersome have only grown in sharp relief as the ebbing tide of time has slowly receded and left them even more obvious to any and all who happened to look, or perhaps they have grown and I only think the tide is ebbing. I suppose it might be entertaining for others to watch as I launch myself to each in an effort to remove them. But obdurate as the granite on which my state rides, these imperfections remain. Perhaps their very strength lies in the fact that I attend to them, and should I but choose to ignore them they might get insulted and find some other person to annoy. Or perhaps their strength lies in the stubbornly implanted and deeply rooted belief that somehow I must overcome them instead of trusting God to handle them for me. Now there’s a thought worth the consideration.

  2. As product development engineers we always strove for perfection, but perfect products were hemmed in by the needs of the marketplace. A perfect product that hit the market too late was worthless to the customer. Our best, on time to introduce at an international trade show worked well for our business and the productivity gains of our customers. Product improvement continued but perfection finally gave way to the Product Life Cycle.

  3. Fabulous! We have no doubt lost valuable thoughts, arts, business and so on due to this crippling act that we all have some form of at times.

Leave a Reply

